Thursday, August 13, 2015

Announcement of Assisted Living Advisory Council Members

The Colorado Council for Assisted Living represents providers and consumers of assisted living residential services, the Colorado Commission on the Aging, county, district, or municipal public health agencies or local boards of health, and consumer and other agencies and organizations providing service to or concerned with residents of assisted living residences.

Following an announcement during the month of June, 2015, the department received 45 applications for appointment to serve on the Colorado Council for Assisted Living. As part of the selection process for council members, the department considered the diversity of the committee composition and each applicant's industry knowledge and experience, professional credentials, diversity of care giving service, representation and outreach, agency size, geographic area served and type of services delivered. 

After careful deliberations, the department is pleased to announce the following people as the newly appointed assisted living council members:

Amelia Schafer, Alzheimer's Association, Colorado Chapter
Ann Kokish, Colorado Health Care Association
Julie Lee, Good Samaritan Society Estes Park Village
Jun Murai, Colorado Access Long Term Support Solutions
Karen Burley, The Haven Assisted Living
Kym Hansler, Frasier Meadows Manor Inc. Assisted Living Center
Laura Landwirth, LeadingAge Colorado
Linda Buendorf, The Myron Stratton Home
Michaelle Smith, Hilltop Community Resources
Pamela Stephens, Jefferson County Public Health
Pat Johnston, Family Representative
Paulette St. James, Colorado Commission on Aging
Shannon Gimbel, Denver Regional County of Governments
William Boles, Jr., Colorado Assisted Living Association; Highline Place

The council is also represented by staff from Health Facilities and Emergency Medical Services Division of the Colorado Department of Public Health and the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing.

We sincerely thank everyone who applied. 

All applications for council membership are retained by the department for future considerations pertaining to membership needs, including the establishment of workgroups as deemed necessary by the council. 

The next meeting will be held on Thursday, August 27 in the Sabin -Cleere room from 12:00 to 2:00 p.m. The Sabin- Cleere room is located on the first floor of Building A- 4300 Cherry Creek drive south, Denver, Co 80246. 

To participate by telephone, please follow these instructions:
Please note, the conference calling procedures have changed, and below is the new number and steps to follow to participate in the call: 
Step #1: Dial 1-712-432-3066 
Step #2: When prompted, dial participant passcode 527044
Step #3: You will be on music hold until a few moments before 12:00 PM.
Step #4: Very important: Please press 4* and mute your telephone to prevent background noise. If you would like to make a comment or ask a question, press 4* to unmute. When you are finished talking, please re-mute your telephone using 4* again.

If you have any questions, please contact Dee Reda at or call 303/692-2893 at least a business day in advance of the meeting.